Did You Get That Thing I Sent You?

Stuff to make your work day just a bit more bearable.

Two More Thingies

with one comment

-As a writer living in Brooklyn, I have a vested interest in Brooklyn’s poetry scene (via Siliman’s Blog).  Though I can’t say I attend all that many readings, or seek out poets specifically by borough, I am always fascinated by art’s proclivity to developing regional flavors.  When I first moved to New York, I met a fellow writer who has been living in New York for a decade (and who runs a blog, The Whiskey Dregs, which I will soon be contributing to).  I showed him some of my poetry, he looked at it with a few nods of understanding and then told me, “New York is gonna change the way you write, just wait.”  It was true- just as its true that every book you read, every person you meet, every year you grow will change the way you write, so too will the place you live.  New York is individual, just like everything else.

-From last week’s New Yorker, a short and casually shocking story by Guillermo Martinez called Vast Hell.  Gossip is the subject of the story, and indeed the prose itself is very gossipy.  Near the end of the story the essential evil and base terror that underlies gossip as a human phenomenon is literally unearthed, and the story is suddenly “about” something very different.  It’s a masterfully seamless transition, the kind of old school nuts and bolts storytelling that you see less and less of these days.

Written by Peter Kelly

May 1, 2009 at 6:08 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “I showed him some of my poetry, he looked at it with a few nods of understanding and then told me, “New York is gonna change the way you write, just wait.” It was true…”

    What a great story.

    poeticgrin

    May 1, 2009 at 7:05 pm


Leave a Reply

