Did You Get That Thing I Sent You?

Stuff to make your work day just a bit more bearable.

Jack Handey

with one comment

Jack Handey is best known for his “Deep Thoughts,” which used to air between sketches on SNL in the early 90s, and is widely assumed to be himself the fictional creation of another author.  But nope, that’s him above.

Recently he’s been writing occasional humor pieces for The New Yorker‘s “Shouts & Murmurs” section.  I came across one at work the other day after reading this past week’s article on Dogfish Head Brewery (itself a great read), and stifled so much laughter at my desk that I probably put myself at risk for an ulcer or a stroke.  The woman across the cubicle wall was getting annoyed, I think, but screw her.  She looks like Michael Jackson and sings like the voices in SimpleText.

The Plan, The Symbols on My Flag (And What They Mean), and My Nature Documentary– my favorite New Yorker pieces.

In Praise of the Human Body, a piece Handey did for Outside magazine.

Written by Peter Kelly

November 22, 2008 at 9:28 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yes, I have been a “deep thoughts” fan since the 90’s. Perhaps my earliest and most persistent “deep thought” memory is “I wish I had a cross made out of Kryptonite. That way I could keep away Dracula and Superman”, in the unmatched, perfectly dead-pan drone over sound effects of seagulls and an image of a boy and a man walking over a beach.
    No, I did not know he was a real person. That is a discovery of a lifetime.
    Jack Handey quote from a match.com profile:
    “The worst thing you can do as an actor, I think, is forget your lines. And then get so flustered you start stabbing the other actors.”

    Jonah

    November 28, 2008 at 5:24 am


Leave a Reply

